Los Sueños de Piedra

‡ Who the fuck is Ben Howard?¡ ‡

Nacido en 1987 en un suburbio de  Londres Ben Howard  es una de las voces “nuevas” de la música inglesa; que tanto ha dado a la música en los Últimos 100 años.  Hace unos meses ganó dos de los premios principales en los Britt Awards, la principal premiación para músicos ingleses, lo peculiar fue la reacción del publico que  inmediatamente después de que él recibió el premio empezó a correr en el twitter una pregunta llamativa: “Who the fuck is Ben Howard?¡”

ben-howard-2-1000x500

He escuchado algunas de sus canciones y me han llamado la atención especialmente su voz, las letras melancólicas y su forma peculiar de tocar la guitarra en las introducciones melódicas y sus interpretaciones casi siempre acústicas. Les dejo algunas canciones que he estado escuchando últimamente para ver si pueden respondernos levemente esa pregunta:

The Wolves

Falling from high places, falling through lost spaces,
Now that we’re lonely, now that there’s nowhere to go.
Watching from both sides, these clock towers burning up,
I lost my time here, I lost my patience with it all.

And we lost faith, in the arms of love.

Where you been hiding lately, where you been hiding from the news?
Cause we’ve been fighting lately, we’ve been fighting with the wolves.
With the wolves. With the wolves.
Red tongues and hands.

Falling from high places, falling through lost spaces,
Now that we’re lonely, now that we’re so far from home.
Watching from both sides, these towers been tumbling down,
I lost my mind here, I lost my patience with the lord.
Oh, with the lord

And we lost faith, oh in the arms of love
(Love love love)

Where you been hiding lately, where you been hiding from the news?
Cause we’ve been fighting lately, we’ve been fighting with the wolves.
With the wolves. With the wolves.
Red tongues and hands.

Oh, we lost faith in the arms of love.
(Love love love love love love)

Red tongues and hands.

tumblr_m7l0zaQwAV1r6l3bfo1_500

Under The Same Sun

I lie in your charms
Though it harms the best of me
And I lie on to my friends to them
No wonder why I wait for thee

And I hope like a child
Widow of the sea
I hold these arms around you
All’s around me

Will you be there when the day’s done
Will you be there
Under the same, under the same sun
Under the same, under the same sun

My yearn oughta turn these things
Turn these things around
I learned from you
Oh I made these plans, made this plans
With you around dear
With you around dear

Will you be there when the day’s done
Will you be there
Under the same, under the same sun
Under the same, under the same sun

Will you be there when the day’s done
Will you be there
Under the same, under the same sun
Under the same sun

(Will you be there when the day’s done
Will you be there
Under the same, under the same sun)

Under the same sun

Lalalala lovely as you are

Ben Howard

Bones

Ben-Howard_Interview-640x326

Only Love

Darling you’re with me, always around me.
Only love, only love.
Darling I feel you, under my body.
Only love, only love.
Give me shelter, or show me heart
Come on love, Come on love.
Watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

And I’ll be yours to keep.

Darling you’re with me, always around me.
Only love, only love.
Darling I feel you, under my body.
Only love, only love.
Give me shelter, or show me heart
Come on love, Come on love.
Watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

And I’ll be yours to keep.

Darling you’re with me, always around me.
Only love, only love.
Darling I feel you, under my body.
Only love, only love.
Give me shelter, or show me heart
Come on love, Come on love.
Watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

Watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

Only love love love, Only love love love, Only love love love.
Girl show me heart.
Come on love love love, Come on love love love, Come on love love love.
Watch me fall apart.
Come on love love love, Come on love love love, Come on love love love.
Girl showe me heart.
Show me love love love, Show me love love love, Show me love love love.

Darling I feel you under my body.
Darling you’re with me forever and always.
Give me shelter or show me heart.
And watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

ben_howard2

The Fear

Mama, cold hearted child, tell me how you feel
Just a blade in the grass, spoke unto the wheel
Mama, cold hearted child, tell me where its all gone
The luster of your bones, those arms that held you strong

I been worryin’ that my time is a little unclear
I been worryin’ that I’m losing the one’s I hold dear
I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

Mama, cold hearted child, tell me how you feel
Just a blade in the morning air, dark shadow on the hill
Mama, cold hearted child, tell me where it all falls
Oh this apathy you feel will make a fool of our soul?

I been worryin’ that my time is a little unclear
I been worryin’ that I’m losing the one’s I hold dear
I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

And I will become what I deserve
Oh i will become what i deserve

I been worryin’, I been worryin’, I will become what I deserve

I been worryin’ that my time is a little unclear
I been worryin’ that I’m losing the one’s I hold dear
I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

41EkQLeGaKL._SL500_AA300_

Old Pine

Hot sand on toes, cold sand in sleeping bags,
I’ve come to know that memories
Were the best things you ever had
The summer shone beat down on bony backs
So far from home where the ocean stood
Down dust and pine cone tracks

We slept like dogs down by the fire side
Awoke to the fog where all around us
The bloom of summertime

We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones
As the old pine fell we sang
Just to bless the morning.

Hot sand on toes, cold sand in sleeping bags,
I’ve come to know the friends around you
Are all you’ll always have
Courtesy of lyricshall.com
Smoke in my lungs, the echoed stone
Careless and young, free as the birds that fly
With weightless souls now.

We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones
We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones
As the old pine fell we sang
Just to bless the morning.

We grow, grow, steady as the morning
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, happy as a new dawn
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, steady as the flowers
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, happy as a new dawn
We grow, grow, older still

ben_howard

London

Oh, how i wish i could drag you down here,
Pull these feet far from the ground
Because this, this city ain’t no friend of mine
Ain’t no friend.

All i can do
When the tracks stop at the final destination
Is just push on through,
The weariness and silences of such a crowded situation here.

All i can do
When every brick, every bar, every elegance i see, i see her face,
Is just push on, just push on through,
These embers of memories that float from the fire, from the fire of this place.

So don’t give up on me now,
Oh these legs that’ll walk me home.

Because it’s only concrete and cars,
It’s only sirens and missing stars,
It’s only whiskey and disregard
In the smallest hours here, when i feel alone.

All i can do
when these lights, they haunt me like orchids in a graveyard,
Is just just push on, just push on through
These faces of dust and stone,
The dirt and bone of loss.

So don’t give up on me now,
Oh these legs that’ll walk me home.

Because it’s only concrete and cars,
It’s only sirens and missing stars,
It’s only whiskey and disregard
In the smallest hours here, when i feel alone.

..and i hope, Paris is as beautiful as i’ve been told
and that everything you do is galvanised in gold.

4 comentarios el “‡ Who the fuck is Ben Howard?¡ ‡

  1. Florentino A.
    marzo 30, 2013

    Me gusto su música, tiene un estilo interesante, sobre todo en “under the same sun” la forma en que toca la guitarra es full bacan. Y la canción “London” también me gusto bastante. Aunque a veces, sobretodo el los coros, tiene un estilo muy popero.

  2. Eta Carinae
    abril 1, 2013

    Al final de The Fear se obtienen algunas pistas acerca de los circuitos de circulación de esta música que al parecer está en las corrientes mainstream. Es interesante el contraste entre las melodías “alentadoras” de la guitarra y el contenido incierto y temeroso de las letras. Igual que a Florentino, la introducción y la forma de tocar de “under the sun”, me pareció lo más llamativo.

  3. AbaoAqu
    abril 1, 2013

    Al parecer su estilo de tocar la guitarra es influenciado por este otro guitarrista folk, John Smith: http://youtu.be/-yAXLz8FHZA
    También al parecer se logra tales sonidos afinando la guitarra en sol abierto. También me gustó London…
    ..and i hope, Paris is as beautiful as i’ve been told
    and that everything you do is galvanised in gold.

Responder

Información

Esta entrada fue publicada en marzo 29, 2013 por en Arte, Música y etiquetada con , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Únete a otros 52 seguidores

Estadísticas del sitio

  • 25,857 visitas

Temas

Woodbine

An experimental hub in Ridgewood, Queens for developing the skills, practices, and tools for building autonomy in the Anthropocene.

Modern Clicks

La web de Carlos A. Scolari (@cscolari)

Angelus Novus

Über den Engel der Geschichte und mehr

Elsye Suquilanda

writer, film maker, performance artist

Fractal Ontology

refracting theory: politics, cybernetics, philosophy

participatory sense-making

the enactive approach to intersubjectivity

Stephanie Newman

Stephanie Newman

The Catjects Project

"Jeder soziale Kontakt wird als System begriffen." (Niklas Luhmann)

